Coming soon · Release date: October 22, 2026 · Info based on official announcements Sources ↗

Updated

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher FAQ

Explore the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher, credited studios, release dates, editions, and platform details before you preorder.

Jump to
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher FAQ

Who develops and publishes Modern Warfare 4?

Eight studios appear in the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher credits, with Activision handling publishing. That matters when you’re checking who makes the game, which company’s account you need, and what the advertised features actually promise. The Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher breakdown names Infinity Ward alongside seven other developers, but it does not assign individual studios to specific modes.

For players looking for a quick answer, the distinction is straightforward: the development credits include multiple studios, while the publisher field names Activision alone.

CreditListed company or studios
DeveloperInfinity Ward
Additional listed developersBeenox, Digital Legends, Activision Shanghai, Raven Software, Treyarch, Sledgehammer Games, High Moon Studios
PublisherActivision
Copyright attributionActivision Publishing, Inc.

Infinity Ward appears first in the Steam developer list. However, that ordering does not establish the studio’s exact responsibilities or explain how development work is divided. Treat the list as a credit roster rather than a detailed production chart.

The publisher information is more direct. Activision appears in both the Steam publisher field and the PlayStation product details. The PlayStation listing also requires an Activision account and acceptance of the company’s software license and services agreement.

Knowing the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher names gives you useful context, but purchase decisions still depend on the edition, supported platform, launch timing, and features advertised for this particular game. A familiar studio name alone does not establish how a mode will play.

Official source: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 (store.steampowered.com)

What the developer credits tell you—and what remains unspecified

Modern Warfare 4’s developer roster contains eight named studios. That is a concrete credit detail, but it leaves several production questions unanswered. The listings do not identify who built each campaign mission, which studio owns multiplayer development, or which team handles DMZ.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 — What the developer credits tell you—and what remains unspecifiedImage: Steam / Infinity Ward

That distinction matters because assigning responsibilities based on a studio’s name can create expectations the product description never makes.

Development questionWhat the listed credits establish
Is Infinity Ward credited?Yes, it appears in the developer list
Are Treyarch and Sledgehammer Games credited?Yes, both appear
Is Raven Software credited?Yes, alongside the other listed developers
Which studio develops each mode?Individual mode assignments are not specified
Is Activision listed as the publisher?Yes
Is a post-launch studio schedule provided?No schedule is included in these product details

When comparing the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher information with another Call of Duty release, a good approach is to separate credits from feature promises. Shared developer names do not establish shared maps, movement systems, campaign length, or update schedules.

The multiplayer description emphasizes grounded combat, fluid movement, player choice, and control. Those are broad design claims. They do not provide movement speeds, matchmaking rules, weapon balance statistics, or a competitive ranking structure.

Likewise, DMZ is described as an extraction experience behind enemy lines. That supports expectations about choosing objectives and deciding when to leave, but it does not establish inventory persistence, insurance rules, or progression systems.

For now, use the credited studios to understand who is associated with development. Use the mode descriptions to understand the advertised gameplay. Keeping those questions separate helps you avoid buying around an assumption about a studio’s involvement.

Release dates, campaign early access, and platform availability

Modern Warfare 4 is listed for preorder. Steam displays October 22, 2026, while the US PlayStation listing displays 10/23/2026, including a timestamp of 04:00 AM UTC.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 — Release dates, campaign early access, and platform availabilityImage: Steam / Infinity Ward

Those displayed dates differ. The available details do not establish a single launch time across every platform and region, so check the storefront attached to your purchase before planning your first session.

Release detailSteamUS PlayStation Store
Displayed release dateOctober 22, 202610/23/2026
Displayed launch timestampNot included in the provided details04:00 AM UTC
Platform identifiedWindows PCPS5
Campaign early accessAdvertised starting October 16Advertised starting October 16
Platform limitationmacOS and Linux are not listed as supportedExplicitly unavailable on PS4

Campaign early access is advertised for digital preorders, beginning October 16. The PlayStation terms say actual play time can be affected by outages and time-zone differences, and that platform availability and the start date may change.

Do not treat campaign early access as confirmation that multiplayer or DMZ opens on the same date. The advertised benefit specifically names the campaign.

The Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher credits also do not determine platform availability. For example, Activision’s presence as publisher does not establish additional console versions beyond those identified here.

On PlayStation, the game is labeled PS5 Pro Enhanced. That label does not specify a resolution target, frame rate, or particular graphics mode in the listed details.

Before preordering, a good approach is to:

  • Check that the product names your intended platform.
  • Review the release date displayed for your storefront and region.
  • Read the campaign early-access conditions.
  • Confirm whether your planned online play requires a subscription.

These checks address practical purchase requirements without relying on assumptions about a global rollout.

Standard versus Vault Edition: what your purchase includes

The US PlayStation Store lists the Standard Edition at $69.99 and the Vault Edition at $99.99. Those advertised prices apply to that storefront.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 — Standard versus Vault Edition: what your purchase includesImage: Steam / Infinity Ward

Both editions include Modern Warfare 4 for PS5 and advertise campaign early access. The Vault Edition adds operator packs, a weapon collection, one season of BlackCell, and a DMZ bonus.

Included contentStandard Edition on PS5Vault Edition on PS5
Modern Warfare 4 base gameIncludedIncluded
Campaign early accessAdvertisedAdvertised
Immediate preorder items for BO7/WarzoneAdvertisedAdvertised
Hostile Alliance Operator PackNot listedIncluded
Special Forces Operator PackNot listedIncluded
Signature Weapon CollectionNot listedIncluded
BlackCellNot listedOne season
DMZ Deployment BonusNot listedIncluded
Listed US price$69.99$99.99

Steam provides further detail about the Vault content. The Hostile Alliance Operator Pack lists four skins: Price, Valeria, Ghost, and Blix. The Special Forces Operator Pack lists four skins representing the United Kingdom, Germany, France, and South Korea, with voice packs in their respective local languages.

The Signature Weapon Collection contains five Signature Weapons. BlackCell includes the Battle Pass, 20 Tier Skips, 1,100 CP, and additional content. The DMZ Deployment Bonus is described only as extra DMZ content; its exact benefits are not specified.

Steam also advertises a 10% Vault Edition preorder loyalty discount for eligible previous Call of Duty owners. Eligibility conditions are not detailed here, so check whether the discount appears for your account before paying. The PlayStation prices above should not be treated as Steam prices.

Beyond the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher names, these edition differences are the details that directly affect your purchase.

A good approach is to compare the listed extras against what you actually want. Do not assume the DMZ bonus provides a particular gameplay advantage or that Signature Weapons have superior statistics; neither claim is established by the descriptions.

Digital preorder bonuses also include the Inner Circuit Weapon Blueprint at launch, the Hunter Killer Operator Skin, and the Gilded Pearl Camo Pack. Some items require separately owned or downloaded games for immediate use.

Campaign, multiplayer, DMZ, and practical setup details

Modern Warfare 4 advertises three gameplay offerings: campaign, multiplayer, and DMZ. The campaign centers on an invasion of South Korea and follows both a young South Korean squad and Captain Price’s separate mission.

Its advertised settings include trench combat in Korea, fighting in New York, chases through Paris, SAS operations in Mumbai, and assaults on occupied cities. These descriptions establish locations and scenarios, but not mission count, campaign duration, or the order in which you visit them.

Multiplayer is described around precise combat and fluid movement. Steam lists online PvP, online co-op, and cross-platform multiplayer among the game’s categories. Those categories do not explain every mode’s player limits or platform pairing options.

DMZ emphasizes decisions during extraction runs: which objectives to pursue, what to secure, and when to leave contested territory. A good approach, based on that description, is to discuss your intended objective and extraction priorities with your group before committing to a run. Specific extraction procedures are not detailed.

Preparing a PC or PS5 for launch

The minimum PC specifications include an AMD Ryzen 5 1400 or Intel Core i5-6600 processor and 8 GB of RAM. Listed minimum graphics options include the AMD Radeon RX 470, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 / 1060, and Intel Arc A580.

Recommended specifications move to an AMD Ryzen 5 3600 or Intel Core i7-8700K, 16 GB of RAM, and an AMD Radeon RX 6600XT, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060, or Intel Arc B580.

Both PC specification tiers call for an SSD with 115 GB available at launch. Minimum requirements list updated 64-bit Windows 10; recommended requirements list updated 64-bit Windows 11. No performance targets accompany those tiers.

On PS5, online multiplayer requires PlayStation Plus. The listing also says additional storage may be necessary for mandatory updates and that a mobile phone number linked to your Activision account may be required.

Checking your storage, hardware, subscription, and account requirements is more actionable than drawing performance conclusions from the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher roster. None of the credits guarantees a particular frame rate or download size beyond the stated storage requirement.

FAQ

Who is the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 developer and publisher?

The listed developers are Infinity Ward, Beenox, Digital Legends, Activision Shanghai, Raven Software, Treyarch, Sledgehammer Games, and High Moon Studios. Activision is the publisher. The credits do not specify individual studio responsibilities.

Is Infinity Ward the only developer?

No. Infinity Ward appears first in Steam’s developer list, which names eight studios in total. The listing does not provide a breakdown showing which team develops campaign, multiplayer, or DMZ.

When does Modern Warfare 4 release?

Steam displays October 22, 2026. The US PlayStation Store displays 10/23/2026, at 04:00 AM UTC. Campaign early access is advertised starting October 16 for digital preorders, subject to the stated availability conditions.

Can you play Modern Warfare 4 on PS4?

The PlayStation listing explicitly says Modern Warfare 4 is available on PS5 and unavailable on PS4. Steam identifies Windows support and does not list macOS or Linux support.

Continue with

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 FAQ: Launch & EditionsCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 4 FAQ covers release dates, campaign early access, editions, DMZ, and PC requirements. Compare details before you pre-order.

Official channels for news, updates and player help: